Compare
A Trainerize alternative for in-person personal trainers
By Catalin from GorilloLast checked
Sources. Every fact about Trainerize on this page was read on 30 October 2026 from the vendor’s own pages and store listings:
- Pricing page: plans, monthly and yearly prices at each client step, add-ons, 30-day trial
- Questions and answers: English-only interface, video library and your own uploads, Stripe add-on, Basic clients, USD billing
- Features overview: programmes, AI Workout Builder, nutrition, groups and challenges, appointments and classes, profile, branded app
- Stripe payments add-on: recurring and one-time payments, session packs and credits
- Business add-on: prospect booking, trial products, referrals, push alerts
- Custom branded apps: Pro, Studio and Enterprise levels and what each includes
- App Store listing: workout tracking, progress tracking, languages
- Official overview: who Trainerize is for, client types
- Page for independent trainers: online, in-person and hybrid use
Gorillo is the alternative for trainers who coach in the gym. You log each session by voice or chat as it happens, and your packages, memberships and calendar sit on one phone. It starts at $14.99 a month for 5 clients, with every feature in every plan. Trainerize has the longer feature list; the price table shows what each costs.
Trainerize is built for independent personal trainers and online coaches, gyms and fitness studios, wellness and lifestyle coaches, and larger fitness businesses, online, in person or both.
Where Trainerize is the better choice
If you need any of these, choose Trainerize. Gorillo does not have them.
- Coaching at volume. Pro runs to 200 clients and Studio Plus to 500 and beyond, with groups, challenges, habit streaks and badges, and video calls as an add-on. Gorillo’s largest plan covers 100 clients.
- A free tier. Basic costs nothing for one coaching client, and Grow adds a second for $10 a month. Gorillo has a 7-day trial and then a paid plan.
- Programmes, videos and an AI builder. Trainerize has phased programmes built from scratch or from templates, a library of exercise videos and your own uploads, and an AI Workout Builder on paid plans. Gorillo has no multi-week programme builder and no exercise video library.
- Nutrition and habits. Meal and macro tracking, an advanced nutrition add-on from $20 a month, and custom habits with streaks and badges. Gorillo has no nutrition tools.
- An app under your own name. A $169 one-off buys a Pro-level branded app with your logo and colours, and Studio level gets your own App Store listing. Gorillo has one app, with Gorillo’s name on it.
- Payments and selling inside the app. The Stripe add-on ($10 a month) takes one-time and recurring payments and sells products, memberships and session packs. Gorillo records payments; it does not take them.
- Seats for clients who only book. Trainerize’s Basic clients can book and pay for sessions without the full coaching tools, and do not count toward your client limit.
- Marketing and teams. A Trainerize.me profile, prospect booking, trial products and referrals (Business add-on, $25 a month), plus team roles and multiple locations on Studio Plus.
Where Gorillo fits better
Gorillo is built for the trainer who is in the room with the client.
- Live logging. Say or type the sets as the client does them, and Gorillo writes the session up with AI. Nothing to rebuild from memory at nine at night.
- Packages & memberships on the same phone as your calendar. Each session uses one and you see what is left, next to your 1:1s and classes, with a web desk for the bigger screen.
- Priced by how many clients you coach, from $14.99 a month for 5 clients. Every feature is in every plan.
- Payments recorded, not processed. Clients pay you the way they already do. Gorillo keeps track of who has paid and who owes, takes no cut and never touches your clients’ card payments.
Gorillo works in Spanish and English for you and your clients. Trainerize’s own FAQ says its app interface is English only.
Gorillo is built for the session itself, not for coaching from a distance. It does not have:
- An exercise video library.
- A multi-week programme builder.
- Clients logging the workouts you assign them.
- Nutrition plans.
- An app under your own name.
- Payments inside the app.
What each one costs
Prices as shown on each company’s own page. Trainerize was last read on 30 October 2026.
Prices here are in US dollars, billed monthly. Gorillo’s dollar prices are before sales tax. Trainerize: before tax (its page says “subject to applicable taxes”). Paying yearly is cheaper at both; the notes under each list give the yearly figures.
Gorillo · Every feature
| Plan | Clients | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Gorillo | up to 5 | $14.99 |
| Gorillo | up to 10 | $24.99 |
| Gorillo | up to 20 | $39.99 |
| Gorillo | up to 40 | $69.99 |
| Gorillo | up to 100 | $139.99 |
Pay yearly and get 2 months free: ten times the monthly price. The 100-client plan is monthly only.
Every feature is in every plan. Clients you archive do not count toward your plan.
Trainerize · billed monthly
| Plan | Clients | Per month |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | up to 1 | Free |
| Grow | up to 2 | $10 |
| Pro | up to 5 | $25 |
| Pro | up to 15 | $50 |
| Pro | up to 30 | $79 |
| Pro | up to 50 | $135 |
| Pro | up to 75 | $180 |
| Pro | up to 100 | $225 |
| Pro | up to 200 | $250 |
| Studio Plus | up to 500 | $275 |
- Basic, up to 1. A free tier for one coaching client: the mobile app, workout programmes and delivery, basic messaging and habit coaching. The 30-day trial has no client cap and needs no card, and drops you to this tier when it ends.
- Grow, up to 2. Paid yearly: $9 a month. Trainerize’s pricing page opens on yearly-billing prices ($9, $23 and so on) and quotes monthly-billing prices in its comparison table and FAQ ($10, $25 to $135), without saying which is which, so the page looks like it contradicts itself. The prices here are the monthly-billing ones; the yearly ones are in these notes.
- Pro, up to 5. Paid yearly: $23 a month. The Pro price steps up with the number of clients, picked on the page. Add-ons cost extra: Stripe Integrated Payments $10 a month, Business $25, Video Coaching $10, Advanced Nutrition Coaching $20 (up to 15 clients) or $45 (30 and up), and a one-off $169 for a Pro-level branded app.
- Pro, up to 15. Paid yearly: $45 a month.
- Pro, up to 30. Paid yearly: $71 a month.
- Pro, up to 50. Paid yearly: $122 a month.
- Pro, up to 75. Paid yearly: $162 a month.
- Pro, up to 100. Paid yearly: $203 a month.
- Pro, up to 200. Paid yearly: $225 a month.
- Studio Plus, up to 500. Per location added. Paid yearly: $248 a month. 1,000 clients is $380 ($342 yearly), and more than that is by quote. Studio Plus includes all four add-ons and a studio-level branded app.
The same roster, side by side
| Clients you coach | Gorillo | Trainerize |
|---|---|---|
| 5 | $14.99 | $25 |
| 15 | $39.99 | $50 |
| 30 | $69.99 | $79 |
| 40 | $69.99 | $135 |
| 50 | $139.99 | $135 |
| 100 | $139.99 | $225 |
Each price is the plan that covers that many clients, as shown. The lower price shown is in bold. Prices less than one unit apart are about the same, so neither is in bold.
Prices checked on 30 October 2026, from https://www.trainerize.com/pricing/. Gorillo’s prices are on its pricing page. Gorillo pricing
Features side by side
Fifteen rows. “Not stated” means Trainerize’s own pages do not say, which is not the same as no.
Key. Yes, partly, no, or not stated on the company’s own pages.
| Feature | Gorillo | Trainerize |
|---|---|---|
| Trainer logs sets live, during the session | Yes | Not stated Not stated. Its pages describe assigning workouts and tracking whether they are done, not the trainer logging sets as they happen. |
| Calendar with 1:1s and classes | Yes | Yes Appointments, group sessions and classes, with client self-booking. Booking from a profile for prospects is part of the Business add-on. |
| Packages & memberships that count down | Yes | Partly Session packs are in its plan comparison, and session credits are delivered through the Stripe add-on. Whether credits count down as sessions are booked is not stated. |
| Chat with clients | Yes | Yes In-app 1-1 and group messages and voice messages. Push alerts are part of the Business add-on. |
| Progress: weight, measurements, photos | Partly | Yes Body measurements, workout adherence, habits and photos, and weekly progress reports. |
| Community feed or groups | Yes | Yes Groups, challenges and a workout of the day, with badges and reactions. |
| AI features | Yes | Yes An AI Workout Builder on paid plans. |
| Spanish interface | Yes | No Its own FAQ says the app interface is English only. |
| Multi-week programme builder | No | Yes Phased programmes built from scratch or from a template, plus an AI Workout Builder on paid plans. |
| Exercise video library | No | Yes A built-in library of professionally produced videos. Custom exercise videos are listed under Pro, and YouTube videos can be imported. |
| Clients log the workouts you assign | No Clients can start and log their own workouts by chat. Trainers cannot assign a workout for them to log. | Yes Clients track their workouts in the app, including from an Apple Watch. Whether they log sets and weights is not described. |
| Nutrition plans | No | Yes Meal and macro tracking and PDF meal plans, with a Smart Meal Planner in the Advanced Nutrition Coaching add-on (from $20 a month). |
| App under your own name | No | Partly A Pro-level app with your logo and colours is a $169 one-off. Your own App Store listing comes at Studio level. |
| Clients pay inside the app | No | Yes Through the Stripe Integrated Payments add-on: $10 a month on Grow and Pro. Fees are not stated. |
| Lead capture or your own web page | No | Yes A Trainerize.me profile, and in the Business add-on ($25 a month) prospect booking, trial products and referrals. |
Switching to Gorillo
You do not have to move everyone at once.
- Start with the clients you see this week. Add the rest as they come.
- Clients you archive do not count toward your plan.
- Each client joins the free companion app with an invite code from you.
- Your 7-day free trial is long enough to run a week of real sessions next to Trainerize before you decide.
Want it done for you? Send your client list to the founder at contact@courtbreakstudios.com and it will be entered for you.
Questions
Is Gorillo cheaper than Trainerize?
Not at every roster size on the price shown, and Trainerize includes things Gorillo does not. Prices as shown on 30 October 2026, in US dollars, billed monthly. Gorillo’s dollar prices are before sales tax. Trainerize: before tax (its page says “subject to applicable taxes”). At 5 clients: Gorillo $14.99, Trainerize $25. At 15 clients: Gorillo $39.99, Trainerize $50. At 30 clients: Gorillo $69.99, Trainerize $79. At 40 clients: Gorillo $69.99, Trainerize $135. At 50 clients: Gorillo $139.99, Trainerize $135. At 100 clients: Gorillo $139.99, Trainerize $225. On the price shown, Gorillo is lower at 5, 15, 30, 40 and 100 clients; Trainerize is lower at 50. Trainerize’s plans also include multi-week programmes, an exercise video library and meal tracking, and its add-ons (client payments from $10 a month, advanced nutrition from $20, a branded app for $169 once) cost extra. Gorillo has none of these.
Can my clients pay me through Gorillo?
No, by design. Gorillo records what a client has paid and what is still owed, but it never processes a payment and takes no cut. Clients pay you the way they do today. Trainerize does take payments in the app through its Stripe add-on, so if that matters to you, choose Trainerize.
Does Gorillo work in Spanish?
Yes. The trainer app, the client app and the web desk all work in Spanish and English. Trainerize’s own FAQ says its app interface is English only, so if Spanish is the language you work in, that is a real difference.
Can I move my clients over?
Add them as they come. Clients you archive do not count toward your plan. If you would rather not type them in, send your client list to the founder and it will be entered for you.